litp.jpg

Lotus in the Peak
28th - 30th June 2024

Stelvio Trip Planning

JonS

If I was to be planning a trip to the Stelvio area, Italy next year, what kind of 'tourist' sites can I make as stops along the way to help convince the wife we should go? I also need to convince a mate that we should go there instead of the Nurburgring so some great roads along the way would never go amiss.

I know some of you have done this trip before. I want to make it a sightseeing trip, not just a jump in the car for 5/6 days and drive lol.

We are thinking of going at Easter time, where ever we end up going. I guess I should expect snow/ice in Italy? Is this a good/bad time to go? What can we see/go/stay/do along the route?

I'm really a novice at car trip planning so any advice anyone can offer would be great. I know you guys 'n' gals won't let me down.

Bit vague I know but I'm accumulating thoughts, lol

Cheers :blink:

Jon

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Stelvio may well be closed due to snow at Easter:(

I would be tempted to pinch some previous itinerary notes and use them as a guide. I went in 2003 with Seloc members (organised by Rob Clark) and the driving and the scenery were just awesome. Because the mountain passes aren't usually main autoroutes, they get you to places you'd probably not travel to otherwise. I still have some incredibly vivid memories for all sorts of reasons including sweeping mountain descents into places like St Moritz with views for miles and climbing a very steep mountain pass into a foggy snowstorm, scary, but memorable.

We did blast across France there and back, to get to the mountains asap.

Have fun http://www.churly.co.uk/

Niall

I wouldnt bother with the Nurbergring unless you specifically wanted to go there. Seems to be surrounded by hundreds of miles of boring roads, and belguim!

I'd just go Stelvio and plan a few stops on the way.