litp.jpg

Lotus in the Peak
28th - 30th June 2024

Buying Advice Please

sibbo

Hi all,

As a typical newbie I'd be glad of any advice you can give me on my potential car purchase. (This info may be available elsewhere but I couldn't find it, please point me there if it's already sitting somewhere!)

I have 15-17k to spend on a new toy and have always loved the idea of an elise. However, I'd hate to spend my hard saved cash on a car that will be unreliable or hard work to maintain. I don't intend to use it on the track, just get me to and from work. Where should I go to look, test & buy? What should I expect to get? I've read Parkers, Top Gear etc but now need some real info!

Not wishing to offend anyone, the Elise pretender comes with an airbag... can that be enough to even begin to move me in that direction?

Anyone know the contact details for the Warwickshire or South Wales meet? Would be good to talk with someone

Thanks for your help - really appreciated!

Sibbo

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Hi all,

However, I'd hate to spend my hard saved cash on a car that will be unreliable or hard work to maintain. I don't intend to use it on the track, just get me to and from work. Where should I go to look, test & buy? What should I expect to get? I've read Parkers, Top Gear etc but now need some real info!

Sibbo

Hi Sibbo,

Hope you get one ! Honestly, there are no real issues with the Elise re reliability or maintenance. Yes, some suffer head gasket failure, but so do all brands with K-series engines (rover, land rover, MGF, etc)

Maintenance - they're pretty easy, albeit with a few Lotus quirks. Several independant garages out there that don't charge Lotus rates for servicing.

Regarding commuting - an S1 is usable but an S2 is better (the only "better" I'll give to the S2 folks...). The hood on the S2 is far better if you're taking it on and off regularly. Other than that, it's down to preference, and the S1 is a far better design shape (flame suit on).