litp.jpg

Lotus in the Peak
28th - 30th June 2024

Elise S1 Design Weight Transfer Percentage.

Zircon450

Hi fellow MLOC'ers,

Here's a little teaser for you.

Does anyone know the design percentage transfer of weight from rear to front under a braking force of 1g for a standard S1 Elise.

Trying to do some maths relating to brake bias front to rear, and mass/traction.

Is it hidden in some vehicle spec details that someone is aware of ?

:xmas:

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Mark,

I know what you mean, but it can be recorded in real life so to speak, just don;t have the instruments at hand to record.

I'm just checking to see if anyone else went this route and picked up the data.

Lets see, but I suspect the responses will be low, I'm after factual data rather than personal preferences if you get my drift.

I'm sure its there - trust me, I'm a doctor !

Easy enough to calculate, but you need to measure the CG location on the car and the overall weight/static weight distribution.

A bit complicated to describe the techniques on here, but Allan Staniforth's 'Race and Rally Car Source Book' tells you how to measure the CG position. Unless you have a nice big surface plate and some accurate digital corner weight scales, the accuracy won't be spot on, but it will be good enough for some rough sums on brake bias.

Alternatively, just guess the CG height using a scale side drawing of the car: the static weight disribution is roughly 60/40% (so the CG lies 60% back from the front axle line) and the overall weight about 700kg. Brake bias isn't a precise art anyway, so even if you tried to calculate it down to 3 decimal places, you'd still need to fine tune things in reality to take account of differing front/rear tyre characteristics, road surface friction co-efficients etc. to get perfectly balanced brakes.

Hi Martin,

I wrote an extensive post as a reply but it's not showing now, don't know why.