litp.jpg

Lotus in the Peak
28th - 30th June 2024

Elise S2 will not start

Kevin

Up early this morning to make the most of the nice weather but my 2002 Elise will not start, so here’s the problem as I can best describe it as I’m no mechanic! 

battery been on charge all week and green light on the CTEK so all should be well with that. When I turn on the ignition all the Stack lights come on ok, and are bright but the starter motor sounds like it’s struggling to turn over but I can hear a rapid clicking noise and all the headlights and headlight warning buzzer comes on but the engine will not start!

Any thoughts and advice would be very much appreciated on this early Sunday morning 

Thanks Kevin

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply
1 hour ago, Kevin said:

Up early this morning to make the most of the nice weather but my 2002 Elise will not start, so here’s the problem as I can best describe it as I’m no mechanic! 

battery been on charge all week and green light on the CTEK so all should be well with that. When I turn on the ignition all the Stack lights come on ok, and are bright but the starter motor sounds like it’s struggling to turn over but I can hear a rapid clicking noise and all the headlights and headlight warning buzzer comes on but the engine will not start!

Any thoughts and advice would be very much appreciated on this early Sunday morning 

Thanks Kevin

Morning Kevin

Literally a bad start to the day. 

3 things are most likely

Faulty solenoid /starter motor

Failed battery - despite being on charge 

Loose wiring between these two

It could still be your battery depending on how old / how it's been treated (left to run down and recharged for eg) over a few years   edit: try a standard jump start from your family run around to the Elise. If that works its your battery.