litp.jpg

Lotus in the Peak
28th - 30th June 2024

New Elise Owner Looking For Advice An A Look On The Car

nokesy

Hi Guys,

I am a newbie to the site and to the Lotus scene, i have just proudly brought a 1998 Elise S1 in red and was hoping that someone, whom knows more that me on the subject, (not difficult) would be able to spare some time to have a nose over my new car, I can supply drinks and chocolate as an incentive!!

As far as I can say it is a 1.8 K series 57K with a custom exhaust and a different filter. surrender.gif

I live in Mollington (OX17) just outside Banbury and any help, pointers would be extreamly useful.

The next point on my agenda, is what i can do with it, be nice!!

Any advice here would be greatly appreciated, I plan to:

Refresh the suspension

Change te brake lines to braided

Change the clutch line to braided

Put a metal throttle body on 48mm with the holes soldered up

Fit a de-cat pipe (if there isn't one on there)

Refresh the bolts on the clams and undertays

But apart from that...

Thanks

Dave

post-5218-0-14147600-1393594394_thumb.jpg

post-5218-0-15682500-1393594514_thumb.jpg

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Nice looking car there Dave.

Make sure the suspension refresh includes the rear toe links (if they haven't been done).

I would also fit a PRT (Pressure Relief Thermostat) if it hasn't got one.

Most importantly - enjoy your new car.

Firstly welcome !

Do you know if anything needs doing, or have you got a wish-list of improvements that you want to prioritise ? Seems like a sensible starter list.

I'd get the car over to Steve Guglielmi (ScaredStifff) in Daventry for a good look over and some professional advice.

And before anyone says it - driver training is always a good idea (either an easy trackday with Lotus on Track (instruction compulsory for new drivers) or a "Walshy" day).

Watch the tail end in the wet ! You can lose it in the dry, so even easier at this time of year.

But most of all, enjoy it !