litp.jpg

Lotus in the Peak
28th - 30th June 2024

Paint Improvement Advice

DeanB

I need MLOC's advice. I have recently bought a new daily driver, a darkish blue BMW. It's in good nick but it is 6 years old and the paintwork is a bit dull, there are some swirls etc.

What I want is to get the paint in good condition so I can set about applying a couple of coats of good wax.

My question is, how do I do it? What products do I need? Is it a good idea to get some sort of mechanical polisher, and if so what type? Bearing in mind I am a novice and don't want to do any damage and I only really want to spend a day on it. I don't want to go mad.

Thanks in advance for your help guys.

Dean

• Replies 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Paintwork is pretty hard on a BMW, you won't get rid of the swirls by hand. 2 options, mask them with a polish that contains some

filler which will give a slight short term improvement or give it a machine polish to remove the swirls. I've got a couple of DA machines but only finishing pads (as VX/Lotus paint is soft as shite!) welcome to borrow one but you would need to buy a medium cut/ swirl removal pad. So long as the car is properly cleaned (and ideally clayed) you need to be totally hamfisted to mess it up with a DA polisher. Good few hours with that then a decent wax/sealent should see it right.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I bought this kit for my first attempt with a machine polisher, as Luke says using a dual action polisher you shouldn't go far wrong..

http://www.cleanyourcar.co.uk/polishing-machines/das-6-pro-dual-action-polisher/das-6-pro-dual-action-polisher-menzerna-intro-kit/prod_720.html

I reckon I'd allow a full weekend though including washing and claying beforehand....if you're not going mad on it cool.png

Spot on advice here from Luke and Phil. I have the DAS 6 Pro DA too and have used it on the S160, only once as it didn't need any more than that.