litp.jpg

Lotus in the Peak
28th - 30th June 2024

Lotus Elise 111S Wheels

J M Stott

Hello all,

I am new to both this forum and Lotus ownership (well i will be on Saturday when i pick her up cool.gif ) Hopefully it will be a great experience!

The car i have bought has black 111s wheels (carbon black i think he said) which look alright but my personal preference has always been silver wheels, my question is i have seen many people say the 111s wheels should be 'Smoked Chrome' has anybody got a picture of the smoked chrome wheels and a picture of just standard alloy wheel colour as i want to get them sprayed up before i pick the car up next saturday.

Thnaks in advance and soon as i pick her up i'll post some pics!

James

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

That is a STUNNING lotus mate, wheels definately do it justice in the silver dont they, they look like a normal silver to me (although could be my poor quality phone haha) if they are a normal silver then i have made my decision because they look great there cheers!

James

Try not to get plain silver as they can appear bright and a little cheap in my opinion. They are chrome, if you google 'Elise 111S wheels' there's more pictures that show the colour better, this one shows them better also...

lotus_elise_s2_111s_4dd5a2694a869.jpg

I have the originals (2003 111s) and they are not simply smoked chrome. The spokes and centre are smoked chrome but the inner rim fades to black.

They look great but I think they stopped doing them this way because of matching problems.

The wheels on one side are slightly darker than the other. Only noticeable if I take them off side by side.

To re paint this way would quite expensive I guess. Much easier to do a solid colour all over.

I have the originals (2003 111s) and they are not simply smoked chrome. The spokes and centre are smoked chrome but the inner rim fades to black.

They look great but I think they stopped doing them this way because of matching problems.